Videos

This short video highlights the absurdity of the current situation faced by families in Canada. As it stands now, the majority of parents must rely on a patchwork of largely unregulated childcare, with no guarantee of quality.   

Parents often scramble to find a spot, and must sometimes rely on family, friends and a host of other inadequate solutions. Even when families are fortunate enough to find a licensed child care spot, it can cost them nearly a quarter of their take-home pay. In fact, child care costs in Canada are among the highest in the word.   

The current situation is unacceptable and PSAC is asking members and the broader public to add their voice to our call for Justin Trudeau to take action.  

October 31, 2018

This short video highlights the absurdity of the current situation faced by families in Canada. As it stands now, the majority of parents must rely on a patchwork of largely unregulated childcare, with no guarantee of quality.   

Parents often scramble to find a spot, and must sometimes rely on family, friends and a host of other inadequate solutions. Even when families are fortunate enough to find a licensed child care spot, it can cost them nearly a quarter of their take-home pay. In fact, child care costs in Canada are among the highest in the word.   

The current situation is unacceptable and PSAC is asking members and the broader public to add their voice to our call for Justin Trudeau to take action

October 31, 2018

People with multiple chemical sensitivity (MCS) can suffer debilitating physical symptoms when exposed to chemicals in the environment that have no effect on most people.

The video explains what MCS is, its impact on workers with MCS and the employer’s duty to accommodate.

June 2, 2016

What could childcare look like in 2020, if our federal and provincial governments actually invested in a universal and affordable system?

  • Parents could drop their children at inviting childcare centres that provide educational and culturally-relevant programs.
  • Home daycare providers could earn decent wages and network together to share skills and experiences.
  • Women could participate fully in the workforce, knowing that their children are in nurturing and safe environments.
  • And families of all stripes could begin saving for their children’s post-secondary education and their own retirements, free from the burden of the “double mortgage years.”

Comprehensive universal childcare for the next generation. That is the vision of Childcare 2020.

As it stands, the majority of parents must rely on a patchwork of largely unregulated childcare, with no guarantee of quality. The cost of childcare presents a crushing burden for most families, with fees as high as $1,800 a month for a one-year old in major cities such as Toronto and Ottawa.

The Conservative government has chosen a “Leave it To Beaver” approach, offering families the equivalent of a toonie per day to pay for childcare, couching it in the language of “choice.” The reality is that the costs are so high right now, that many women have no choice but to leave the workforce until their kids are in school.

Watch our Childcare 2020 video for a glimpse into what the future could hold if the federal government invested in a national childcare system. 

November 14, 2014

Cuts to Canada's Employment Insurance Program are making it harder to help our most vulnerable, reduce inequality, protect seasonal workers and ensure a more fair and prosperous future for our country. This video highlights the decline of the EI program over the last 25 years.

 

 

June 17, 2014

This video explains how the Public Service Alliance of Canada works. 

May 29, 2014

For many families, child care is the second highest expense after housing. The average cost per child is $30 to $80 a day, or over $1,000 a month. 

That’s challenging enough – yet there are also families who can’t access quality, regulated childcare. Wait lists are notoriously long. That’s because there are only enough regulated spaces for about 19 percent of children aged 0 to 12 years. Yet almost 70 percent of mothers with children under the age of five years are working.

We are ALL Affected by the lack of affordable, quality child care. Let’s Rethink Child Care!

May 5, 2014
Subscribe to Videos

Vidéos

Ces capsules vidéos illustrent la situation absurde que vivent les parents de jeunes enfants au Canada. De nos jours, la majorité des parents doivent s’en remettre à un ensemble de services de garde disparates et généralement non réglementés qui n’offrent aucune garantie de qualité.  Exhortez le premier ministre Justin Trudeau à régler dès maintenant la situation. Signez la pétition »

7 Novembre 2018

Cette vidéo illustre la situation absurde que vivent les parents de jeunes enfants au Canada. De nos jours, la majorité des parents doivent s’en remettre à un ensemble de services de garde disparates et généralement non réglementés qui n’offrent aucune garantie de qualité.

Les parents se démènent souvent pour trouver une place en garderie et doivent parfois compter sur la famille, les amis et trouver toutes sortes de solutions temporaires. Et ceux qui réussissent à obtenir une place dans une garderie agréée doivent y consacrer près du quart de leur salaire net. En fait, les frais de garde au Canada sont parmi les plus élevés au monde.

La situation actuelle est inacceptable! L’AFPC demande à ses membres et à la population canadienne d’ajouter leur voix à la sienne pour exhorter le premier ministre Justin Trudeau à régler dès maintenant la situation.

31 Octobre 2018

Cette vidéo illustre la situation absurde que vivent les parents de jeunes enfants au Canada. De nos jours, la majorité des parents doivent s’en remettre à un ensemble de services de garde disparates et généralement non réglementés qui n’offrent aucune garantie de qualité.

Les parents se démènent souvent pour trouver une place en garderie et doivent parfois compter sur la famille, les amis et trouver toutes sortes de solutions temporaires. Et ceux qui réussissent à obtenir une place dans une garderie agréée doivent y consacrer près du quart de leur salaire net. En fait, les frais de garde au Canada sont parmi les plus élevés au monde.

La situation actuelle est inacceptable! L’AFPC demande à ses membres et à la population canadienne d’ajouter leur voix à la sienne pour exhorter le premier ministre Justin Trudeau à régler dès maintenant la situation.

31 Octobre 2018

Les personnes atteintes de polysensibilité chimique (MCS) peuvent présenter des symptômes physiques graves lorsqu’elles sont exposées à des produits chimiques auxquels la plupart des gens ne réagissent pas.

Cette vidéo explique la MCS, les conséquences en milieu de travail et les mesures à prendre.

2 Juin 2016

Les coupes dans le régime canadien d’assurance-emploi compromettent notre capacité d’aider les plus vulnérables, de réduire les inégalités, de protéger les travailleuses et travailleurs saisonniers et de bâtir un avenir plus juste et plus prospère pour tous. Cette vidéo explique le déclin du régime au cours des 25 dernières années.

17 Juin 2014

Cette vidéo explique le fonctionnement de l'Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada.

29 Mai 2014

Pour plusieurs familles, les services de garde sont la deuxième plus grande dépense après l’hébergement. Le coût moyen par jour par enfant se situe entre 30$ et 80$, ou plus de 1000$ par mois.

Cela présente un immense défi en soit – sans compter le manque d’accès aux services de garde réglementés et de qualité. Les listes d’attentes sont interminables. C’est qu’il y a seulement suffisamment de places réglementées pour environ 19 pour cent des enfant âgés de 0 à 12 ans. Toutefois, près de 70 pour cent des mères ayant des enfants de cinq ans ou moins sont sur le marché du travail.

Tout le monde est touché par la pénurie de services de garde abordables et de qualité Repensons les services de garde !

5 Mai 2014
S'abonner à Vidéos